Extraordinary Council Meeting 8 DECEMBER 2021

- Present: Councillors: David Skipp (Chairman), Kate Rowbottom (Vice-Chairman), Matthew Allen, Tony Bevis, Martin Boffey, Toni Bradnum, Chris Brown, Karen Burgess, Peter Burgess, Jonathan Chowen, Paul Clarke (Leader), Michael Croker, Ray Dawe, Brian Donnelly, Ruth Fletcher, Billy Greening, Nigel Jupp, Liz Kitchen, Lynn Lambert, Richard Landeryou, Gordon Lindsay, Christian Mitchell, Mike Morgan, Roger Noel, Bob Platt, Louise Potter, Josh Potts, Stuart Ritchie, Jack Saheid, Diana van der Klugt, Claire Vickers, Belinda Walters, Tricia Youtan and James Wright
- Apologies: Councillors: Andrew Baldwin, John Blackall, Alan Britten, Philip Circus, Christine Costin, Frances Haigh, Tony Hogben, Tim Lloyd, John Milne, Colin Minto, Jim Sanson and Ian Stannard

CO/60 DECLARATIONS OF MEMBERS' INTERESTS

There were no declarations of interest.

CO/61 TO CONFER THE TITLE OF HONORARY ALDERMAN ON:

The Chairman of the Council stated that the purpose of the meeting was to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on two past members of the Council in recognition of their eminent service to the Council and the community, in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.

MRS EVE MAUCHEL

It was moved by Councillor Liz Kitchen and seconded by Councillor Toni Bradnum and, after a number of Councillors had spoken in support of the proposal, it was:

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY

That the title of Honorary Alderman of Horsham District be conferred upon Eve Mauchel in recognition of her eminent service to the Council and the community.

The Chairman presented Mrs Mauchel with a badge and certificate.

Honorary Alderman Eve Mauchel gave a speech of thanks.

GODFREY NEWMAN

It was moved by Councillor Paul Clarke and seconded by Councillor Louise Potter and, after a number of Councillors had spoken in support of the proposal, it was:

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY

That the title of Honorary Alderman of Horsham District be conferred upon Godfrey Newman in recognition of his eminent service to the Council and the community.

The Chairman presented Godfrey with a badge and certificate, which Honorary Alderman Godfrey Newman accepted with thanks.

The meeting closed at 8.15 pm having commenced at 7.45 pm

CHAIRMAN